; Indo-US Workshop


   Dr Shree K Apte
   Molecular Biology Division,
   Bhabha Atomic Research Center, Mumbai

Dr. S. K. Apte is currently a Distinguished Scientist and Associate Director, Bio-medical Group and Head, Molecular Biology Division in Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Mumbai. He obtained his Masters in Botany with a Gold Medal from the Jiwaji University, Gwalior in 1972, before joining Biology and Radiobiology training program of the 16th batch of BARC Training School in 1972.  He obtained his Ph.D. in Botany from Gujarat University, Ahmedabad in 1985. His research interests encompass cellular and molecular biology and biochemistry of responses of bacteria and plants to agricultural and radiation stress and their biotechnological applications. Dr. Apte has published over 150 research papers and earned recognition in the form of several awards (Prof. J.V. Bhat-Eureka Forbes Award for Excellence in Microbiology, 1990; Young Scientist Award in Cyanobacterial Biotechnology, 1996; Prof. K. S. Bilgrami memorial Award of INSA in 2006, INS-2006 award from the Indian Nuclear Society, and several award lectures) and international fellowships [IAEA Fellowship, Vienna in 1976-77; the Nuffield Foundation Fellowship, U.K in 1984., and the USAID Fellowship, USA in 1988-89].

He has been invited as expert by the US National Science Foundation and has conducted collaborative international research from 1984-1990 under the USAID program and from 1999-2003 under the Indo-German Collaboration Program. He has also been an invited speaker at major international conferences including the stress conferences at Budapest in1997, at Quebec in 2004 in Szeged in 2006 and very recently at IBS-2010 in Rimini, Italy. During 2001-2004 he co-ordinated a DAE-BRNS-sponsored multi-institutional research project entitled “Thermal Ecological Studies” aimed at assessment of possible impact of thermal effluents from nuclear power plants on aquatic ecosystems.

He is an elected fellow of the Indian National Science Academy, National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Agricultural Sciences, India and Maharashtra Academy of Sciences. He also serves as an Expert Member of several national committees, such as Programme Advisory Committee on Plant Sciences of the Dept. of Science & Technology, Task Forces on Nanoscience and Nanotechnology and Environmental Biotechnology of the Dept. of Biotechnology, Genetic Engineering Appraisal Committee of the Ministry of Environment and Forests and committees of several other national agencies such as INSA, ICAR, ICMR, CSIR, DRDO and DAE.